Goals yes, Resolutions no

Ken Saunders
3 min readJan 5, 2020
Authentic Writing is Good Writing

So as I sit here. It’s Saturday, January 4th, 2020. about 7:30 in the evening. Lonnie is home cooking something delicious for dinner, Mr. Fancypants and I just finished a vigorous play/catch chase session. I’ve given myself some time to think about how I wanted to share what’s going on for me as a writer, as a husband, as someone that just entered the latter half of his 50’s, my birthday was on the 1st (for those that didn’t know). I’ve learned so much since I gave the finger to the 9–5 office politics and struck out on my own. Some of it hasn’t been especially helpful, most has. One of the things that I have learned is that I don’t have fit myself or my writing into a prescribed niche. This is the main thing that I wanted to share with you. You don’t have to fit yourself into a mold. When I first started writing full-time I quickly realized that some of the most popular writers, most writers that I was reading anyway were sticking to a common theme. Their niche was often some variation of HowTo make thousands a month on Medium, HowTo never run out of ideas about what to write about and on and on. It was exhausting because all this was doing for me was creating an atmosphere of discouragement which lead to me not to write. I felt like I had to write “in my lane”, which definitely makes it hard to express my authentic experiences. Please don’t get me wrong, I’d read many of these kinds of articles often finding great nuggets…

--

--

Ken Saunders

Born in New York, schooled in the Berkshires, Became an adult in L.A., found my Soul in Seattle. Been writing & drinking copious amounts of coffee since 2012.