Travel article writing is hard and long

Ken Saunders
4 min readJan 13, 2019

As part of my journey as a writer, I wanted to Ken-Saunders.com as a journal to capture some of the challenges as a relatively new professional writer that I experience. As some of you may know I got a contract at the beginning of December to write a number of articles, 243 to be exact on a variety of travel destinations. Each piece is between 400–600 words and like any good article has SEO keywords to make the internet search engines happy, which in turn makes the wheels of commerce happy, which is how everyone gets paid. So I have been plugging along on these articles, most are small to even smaller places you’d likely never think, Oh gee honey lets visit XYZ. Somehow I have to make these places seem exciting and desirable, which at first I kept thinking to myself, “yeah right,” but as I research the majority of them turn out to be cozy, fun and sometimes even delightfully wacky places. I’ve caught myself more than a few times thinking I really would visit some of them. Surprisingly, or maybe not Florida has some of the most interesting little towns, islands. When I first started writing things were moving at what felt like a glacial pace. I’ve created a system for myself now and am finding new “writers routines” to help me get into a writing groove more quickly. After a lot of reading on some of the writer’s boards as well as the almost always fantastic articles up on Medium.com, I’ve come to learn…

--

--

Ken Saunders

Born in New York, schooled in the Berkshires, Became an adult in L.A., found my Soul in Seattle. Been writing & drinking copious amounts of coffee since 2012.