What I’ve learned about Self-Employment

Ken Saunders
4 min readJun 13, 2019

I have been self-employed now since last October when I walked into my previous job and gave my notice. There have been challenges as well as a lot of celebrations. But I think the biggest thing I am surprised by is just how much I’ve learned about myself. There are days when all I can see is what I’m not doing enough of, or correctly or consistently. I decided to be self-employed. Make no mistakes; being the primary breadwinner in our family was a scary decision. I am far more ambitious and driven to achieve my individual goals, the primary one being time and freedom. I’ve yet to find a company that would or could ever satisfy my ambitions. I also know that it is highly unlikely that I would ever create the kind of income working for someone else, even if I’m in a well-paying job. So I thought it was time to reassess where I’m at, putting it all together and then sharing with everyone because I know other people are on a similar journey and will be able to relate.

It’s fair to say I love all things computers, from the hardware and the gadgets to the software. The only thing I love as much as computers and technology are cooking and food.

The food memories, however, are by far the earliest memories I have (from around when I was 4 or 5) about being passionate about something. There are still one or two family members that will remember me taking all…

--

--

Ken Saunders

Born in New York, schooled in the Berkshires, Became an adult in L.A., found my Soul in Seattle. Been writing & drinking copious amounts of coffee since 2012.